204. zuchinni bread.

Im up to my ears in zuchinni, as I mentioned before, so I made some zuchinni bread based on this recipe. It appealed to me since it didnt use much white flour, had no oil, and was low in sugar….and I’m a sucker for anything with a struesel topping. I added raisins, which is something I don’t normally do, and it was good, but I think I will add some chocolate chips next time. Kind of defeats the purpose of being healthy though I guess….

Here is my variation

  • 1 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, mixed and set aside for 5 minutes)
  • 1 & 1/4 cup shredded zucchini (leave skin on), packed
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 & 1/4 cups almond milk
  • Cinnamon Streusel topping: 2 tsp non-dairy margarine/butter, 1 tbsp coarse sugar (like turbinado), 1 tbsp flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon

    Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 400F. Mix the flax egg and set aside. Oil a regular-sized loaf pan.

    2. In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients (flour, powders, salt, cinnamon, sugar, raisins).

    3. In another large bowl, combine the wet ingredients (flax egg, shredded zucchini, maple syrup, milk).

    4. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just mixed. Be careful not to overmix the batter as spelt flour is delicate.

    5. Spoon the batter into prepared loaf pan and spread out evenly. Prepare the cinnamon streusel and then sprinkle on top. Bake for about 37-40 minutes at 400F or until toothpick comes out clean and the loaf gently springs back when pressed.

3 responses to “204. zuchinni bread.

  1. Looks great, I’m going to try this…thanks for the recipe.

  2. Pingback: 251. chocolate zuchinni bread. « make great

Leave a comment