61. oatmeal breakfast smoothie.

Tonight I’m leaving on a plane to head to NYC. So this week has been pretty food heavy, but I hope to have some crafty things in store next week – Today I give you a smoothie….one of my favorites. It reminds me of the oatmeal shakes you get at Irazu.  Not dead on, but similar for sure. Its a thinner smoothie than you might be used to, but I love the sweetness from the dates and cinnamon. Reminds me of horchata. I’m sure you can definitely play with this basic formula and mix and match and come up with all kinds of delicious combinations. I know I plan to…. But for now, this is the basic go-to recipe.

1/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup almond milk
1/3 cup yogurt (I used soy)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for dusting
1 apple, cored and roughly chopped
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 dried dates
Ice cubes

* Try adding a frozen banana or subbing banana for apple. both options = YUM!

3 responses to “61. oatmeal breakfast smoothie.

  1. what i can i use instead of dates?

  2. This sounds amazing! I don’t usually have yogurt around, so I think I will try using a bit of light coconut milk instead. Decadent!

Leave a comment