sazon tomato soup.

sazontomatosoup
A few years ago my friend served me a bowl of this soup and I have been dreaming of it ever since. This past holiday break, he showed me how to make it! Its so so easy and my family goes crazy for it, so we plan to keep it in rotation. we made it with sazon goya, which I learned contains MSG, so im going to experiment with making my own sazon seasoning and give it a try, so I’ll be sure to report back.

Olive oil
3 Tomatoes
1 packet sazon goya
1 small onion
3 cloves garlic
1 box pasta noodles (shells or orichette work great, but honestly you can use anything)
Salt and pepper to taste

Put a little bit of olive oil in a large soup pot and warm. Once warmed, add dry pasta noodles and continually mix until they get toasted and blistery.

Meanwhile, Puree tomatoes, onion, garlic and sazon with a little bit of water ( to get it going) in a blender and blend until smooth. Add this mixture to the pasta and once it boils fill the blender with water about two times (with my size pot and vitamix I fill it one and half times). You basically want to fill the pot almost to the top with water. The amount of water will have to do with the consistency of your broth. If you want it thinner, add more water, if you want it thicker, add less.  Season with salt and pepper.

Once broth boils, cover pot, lower heat and let simmer about 40 minutes.

Serve with warm tortillas. Soup is good in fridge for about three days.

Leave a Reply

