stawberry rhubarb bars.

STRAWBERRYRHUBARBI’m still working like a mad-woman to use up all this rhubarb in my garden. I froze a whole bunch, gave some away, and I still have a bit more to harvest. I found this recipe, and since it was pretty low on the sugar side, I gave it a go. I love the crust. Would think this recipe would be great with just about any fruit that is in season. I ate this all week for breakfast, and maybe for dessert too…but who’s counting?!

CRUST
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup  raw almonds
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 3 Tbsp (24 g) coconut sugar*
  • 4 1/2 Tbsp (68 g) coconut oil, melted
FILLING
  • 2 cups rhubarb, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 cup straweberries
  • 1/4 cup orange or lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp coconut sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
CRUMBLE TOPPING
  • 3 Tbsp coconut sugar
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 Tbsp coconut oil

    recipe/instructions found here

Leave a Reply

