harry potter wall hanging.

IMG_9511

Milo is going to have a harry potter birthday this year – and while searching for party ideas, I came across this fun wall hanging. I’m not a huge harry potter fan myself, but my family sure is – and I loved the message this has. My husband is a middle school English teacher and I thought something like this would be perfect for his classroom. I really wanted to make him one for christmas – but I didn’t have a vinyl cutter.

I sent Landeelu an email asking if she knew how one could get the stencil made without a vinyl cutter and she offered to make me one and list it in her etsy shop for me. So I went that route. I would like to try to make a screen printed or letterpress poster of this because I was hoping to make one more of these at least, but the vinyl stencil really only worked for one canvas.

heres what you need:

  • canvas material (whatever size you’d like your sign to be, taking into account the pockets at each end that you will sew for the wood dowels) I purchased some duck canvas cloth from joannes.
  • wood dowels
  • craft paint
  • Stencil (Fonts used are Bebas Neue and Veneer Extras for the lightening bolt if you want to recreate it exactly.)
  • twine, for hanging

Prepare your fabric. Sew one inch pockets over the top and 1/4 seam on the side (the sides are probably optional – i dont think that canvas will fray. I did it to be safe). Iron the hell out of this to make it nice and wrinkle free.

Apply transfer tape over stencil, remove backing from vinyl and then apply it to canvas material.  Burnish it down and then carefully remove transfer tape from vinyl making sure vinyl remains stuck to canvas. Be careful! The stencil is pretty delicate.

Using a sponge brush, gently dab paint over stencil.

IMG_9506

IMG_9507

Allow paint to dry completely and then remove stencil. I used a blowdryer to speed up the process.

Paint wood dowels desired color & cut to desired length.

Insert wood dowel into the pockets you sewn.  Hang with twine!

Thanks Landeelu for the great idea and for making the stencil for me!

 

 

One response to “harry potter wall hanging.

  1. Looks fantastic! Love the colors you chose!! So fun!

Leave a Reply

