hawaiian korean bowl.

I recently took a trip to portland and, as to be expected, ate the most incredible food. One night we went to one of the food truck parks and I chose the vegan bowl at Hawaiian Grill.  It was pretty tasty! It was red beans, brown rice, kimichi (the kimchi was SO good and spicy!), pickled cucumbers, avocado, spinach and drizzled with peanut sauce. I figured I could try to make a version when I got back and I took a stab at it. I have been trying to figure out more ways to eat kimchi, and I can add this bowl to that list!

Cooked beans ( i recently used this recipe and made THE BEST black beans from a bag using my crockpot)
Cooked Rice (I currently really love red rice)
pickled cucumbers ( You can use something like this recipe to make some)
Avocado
Kimchee
steamed spinach
Seasame seeds
Peanut sauce (recipe below)

  • 1/4 cup salted natural peanut butter
  • 3/4 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 lime, juiced
  • 1/4 tsp chili garlic sauce
  • hot water to thinPut in a mason jar and whisk together. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Assemble the bowls:
Put rice and beans in bowl; Add cucumbers and spinach. Add some peanut sauce; top with kimchee and avocado and sprinkle with seasame seeds.

One response to “hawaiian korean bowl.

  1. Nancy Malmquist

    I often look for the LIKE button when I read about your creations. Date: Fri, 24 Jul 2015 13:06:50 +0000 To: nmalmquist@msn.com

Leave a Reply

