coconut milk scones.

scones

I found this recipe for scones a while back and finally gave it a try. I love a good scone for breakfast, but whenever I find a recipe, they are loaded with butter, or oil – not really want to i want to load myself with the first thing in the morning. While delicious, not the most nutritious thing. When i came across this recipe I noticed it had NO butter or oil, so I was definitely intrigued. These turned out pretty good. They arent as melty-amazing on the inside, nor are they overly sweet – but they have a nice outer crunch, and a softish middle. These are easily customizable – the flavor combinations are endless. I made two batches, and froze one for later, so I didnt waste the can of coconut milk I opened.

2 cups flour ( I used spelt flour)
1/3 cup sugar (I used coconut palm sugar)
1 Tbs. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup canned coconut milk (I used the lower fat kind and it seemed to work fine!)
1 cup dried fruit (cranberries, apricots, cherries, raisins, etc.)*

*I made cranberry/orange/coconut and chocolate chip/cherry/almond versions.

coconut milk
sugar

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Grease your baking sheet.

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Pour in coconut milk. Gently mix with a wooden spoon or a rubber spatula just until it’s combined. Fold in dried fruits. Transfer dough onto a floured surface and shape into a disc about 3/4 inches in thickness. Using a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut into 8 wedges onto prepared baking sheet 2 inches apart. Brush the tops with coconut milk and sprinkle generously with sugar. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Serve immediately or store them in an airtight container after they have completely cooled.

Leave a Reply

