pickles.

pickles

Whoah, summer has SLOWED down my blogging mojo. It’s been a whirlwind of a summer – not much cooking, baking or crafting has been going on in our household.

But my garden is producing vegetables faster than I can use them, and it was about time I put some of them to use. I planted “pickling” cucumbers, so I did just that. I pickled them. These are basically a small, fat cucumber, and I had three of them, on the bigger side.

I found this recipe for making pickles and threw these together in minutes. Heres my variation:

Cucumbers (see note above)
1 1/2 cups white vinegar
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons sea salt
6 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced
3 pinches crushed red pepper flakes
2 tspns dried dill
1 1/2 teaspoons black peppercorns

Wash and slice the cucumbers. slice into rounds.

In a medium saucepan, bring vinegar, water and salt to a simmer. Remove from heat.

Divide the spices between your jars. Add the sliced cucumbers and pack tightly. You don’t want to pack hard enough to bruise the cucumbers, but make sure there are quite a bit in there. Pour warm brine into each jar, leaving about 1/2-inch headspace.

Place lids on the jars and let cool to room temperature before storing in the fridge.

Allow to rest for 2 days before enjoying. Pickles will last up to two weeks.

Leave a Reply

