carrot and oat dog cookies.

dogcookies

These are a simple cookie to make for your dogs. My dogs sat patiently while I was making these, watching my every move – they were excited to get a homeade treat of their own.

This is a rare instance where I’m posting a non-vegan recipe. This recipe uses eggs and it acts as the binding in the cookie. I bet you could substitute an egg replacer like a flax egg, which would also give it some added nutrients!

1/2 cup carrot juice
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 large eggs
1-3 tablespoons natural creamy peanut butter (you decide depending on how your dog likes peanut butter)
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 T flax
1/2 cup coarsely ground cornmeal
1/2 cup rolled oats

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F, with a rack in the center of the oven.
Line a baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper and set aside.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and stir to combine and form a thick dough. Flour your surface well, and turn the dough out onto the board.

Sprinkle flour on top of the dough and onto a rolling pin, and roll the dough to approximately 1/4″-1/2″ thickness. Be sure to use plenty of flour, as this dough is very sticky!

When the dough is rolled out, dip a cookie cutter into flour and cut out the biscuits.

Transfer the cut out biscuits to the prepared sheet pan, leaving about 1/4″ of an inch between each treat. These don’t spread out, so you can fit upwards of 40 onto a baking sheet at a time.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes, or until light golden brown.

Remove the baking sheet from the oven and allow the biscuits to cool completely.

Transfer the biscuits to an airtight container, where they will keep at room temperature for up to two weeks.

2 responses to “carrot and oat dog cookies.

  1. Definitely going to try this recipe out!
    I hope you don’t mind, but I am have pinned it to my Dog Treat Recipes board on pinterest.

    If you would rather I didn’t pin it, let me know and I will take it down. 🙂

Leave a comment