500th post! chai smoothie.

chai
So this is my 500th post on this blog! Hard to believe it!  That sounds pretty crazy!! I wish I had something a little more exciting than a smoothie to share with you for this milestone, but I was traveling this weekend. But I can promise you this is a delicious smoothie and it definitely helped me turn my ordinary daily smoothie into something a little more extraordinary!

I love chai tea, but I tend to stay away from it because it has caffeine. I found some decaffinated kind recently, from tazo, and I’ve been drinking it like its going out of style. Vega makes a chai protein powder that I sometimes use in my smoothie, and its pretty good, buuuuut it still tastes like a protein powder.

This is a great way to mix up my daily smoothie and bring the spicy-ness of a chai tea. You can make the chia mix ahead of time and store it in a little jar for when you need it.

chai spice blend
2 tsp ground cardamom
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp ground allspice

3/4 cup almond milk, or any other nut milk
1/4 cup coconut milk (this will make it kind of creamy – you can just do one cup almond milk if you dont have any coconut milk)
1 frozen banana
1 heaping spoonful almond butter (or peanut butter)
1-2 tsp chai spice1/2 tsp maca powder
1 tbsp flax seed

*additions – adding an apple and/or some oatmeal would really help make this a power-packed winner!

3 responses to “500th post! chai smoothie.

  1. Congratulations on 500 posts – that is truly amazing!

  2. Katie

    Congrats on your 500th post! I love reading your blog, and scrolling back through the archives for fun things to make and do.
    You may have already covered this in a previous post (and apologies if you have and I’ve missed it) but I’d love to know how you keep/organise/manage the crafts that you and Milo make – how do you decide which things to keep, and when to ‘archive’ things that have been displayed?

    • thanks so much! all of the things we cook or bake…we eat! Some of the crafts get gifted, or we make them and display them. I did participate in a craft show last year and sold some coasters, plushies and some of the bags I sewed. But since things are mostly just one-offs, we keep them!

Leave a Reply

