sunburst painting.

sunburst Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetsunburst2

Milo had been gifted with some new watercolors from santa this past christmas so I scoured pinterest to find some uses for them. I came across these DIY Sunburst paintings and I thought this could be a fun little project for him.  When I showed it to him, he frowned and said “oh, that’s hard.” But then I told him its kind of just like coloring in the lines, but with paint! He agreed to work on one and we went to town on it.

I took a look at the drawing on the blog, and tried to replicate something like that using a pencil. I outlined the edge with washi tape, so he didn’t paint onto the table. Our version is a bit bigger than the ones she made because I thought it would be easier for Milo to paint.  I showed him how to use the watercolors and how to paint within the lines. We had fun picking all the colors and seeing how the blend together. The blending part was VERY cool to him!

We let it dry, then I erased all the pencil lines and removed the washi tape.  I hung it up with milo’s other works of art – and every time I would pass it I would smile…After one day of staring at it, I knew it needed a frame. This was too pretty!  Now its hanging in our kitchen and I’m super proud of my little guy’s beautiful painting.  I definitely see some more of these in our future.

Leave a Reply

