jerusalem potluck and a hummus recipe.

potluck

Shortly after the holidays, I had a small potluck where I asked everyone to cook from the Jerasulem cookbook. Last year, around this time, my husband visited Jerusalem with his mom, and shortly afterwards she gifted me with this cookbook. All I have been hearing about for the last year is how amazing the food was when they were there. If it tasted anything like the food in this cookbook looked, then I don’t doubt it!  I made one salad earlier in the year from this book and it was out of this world good.

IMG_4910 IMG_4914 IMG_4915 IMG_4916
So I organized the recipes that I found were vegan, or could easily be made vegan and I invited a few friends and we had a great feast! We had:
Tabouleh
Cauliflower salad with mint and pomegranate
Beet, walnut and leek salad
Swiss chard with wheat berries
Butternut squash with Red onion, tahini and Zatar
Mejedera
Burnt eggplant dip
shakshuka (not vegan, but my husband’s favorite dish and was dying to make this)
hummus

I picked up fresh baked pita bread, baklava and halva from our local middle eastern grocer, and we had a great dinner. Everything was really really delicious, but I think my favorite was suprisingly the tabouleh. It was definitely different than the tabouleh I’m generally used to – this one had pomegranate seeds in it! I definitely recommend this cookbook!

Now, this is a little off track but I made some hummus for the potluck, but I didn’t make the one from the cook book. I know, makes no sense. However, the hummus I made got lots of rave reviews from my guests, so I thought I would share the recipe here:

  • One 15-ounce can chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, about 1 large lemon
  • 1/4 cup  tahini
  • 3-4 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon kosher salt, depending on taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons water
  • Dash of ground paprika for serving
Mix all the ingredients together in a food processor or vitamix blender. Top with a few dashes of the paprika and a little more olive oil if you wish.
IMG_4920 IMG_4921
One response to “jerusalem potluck and a hummus recipe.

  1. Amanda G

    I have had this cookbook for a couple months and I have to admit I was intimidated. All I’ve managed to cook is the hummus. The texture was great, but I added way too much lemon. You’ve encouraged me to look through the cookbook and try again!

Leave a Reply

