star wars sugar cookies.

STARWARS IMG_4336

These may not be my prettiest cookies, but it was an attempt at vegan royal icing and it actually wasn’t TOO bad. Williams sonoma had these cookie cutters more half off a few weeks ago, (they still are!) so we bought some and I wanted to see how hard decorating cookies really is. I’m definitely no pro and have some work to do, but they definitely made my 4 year old happy. I used pastry bags to pipe; would like to try the squeeze bottle route if I can get my hands on some.

I used the sugar recipe from vegan cookies invade your cookie jar.

The royal icing recipe I used is here:

1 cup organic powdered sugar
2 tbsp of non-dairy milk
2 tsp of light corn syrup
1/2 tspn vanilla extract

Place sugar in bowl, add non-dairy milk and whisk until smooth.  Add in vanilla and corn syrup.  Whisk some more.  Icing will be smooth, shiny, and a little runny.  You don’t want it really runny or the icing won’t stick to the cookies.  Icing will be hard with a shiny finish once dry.  You can either dip cookies into icing, or use this icing in a pastry bag.

Leave a Reply

