family room update.

I have been lacking in posts….but for good measure! My house has finally taking some revamping projects. We did two back to back projects – First up: the family room.

Remember all that wood trim in there?

7373499554_6be8155502_bSay goodbye!
We had the room painted – (sandstone by Sherwin williams) and the trim painted white. And those 18 foot ceilings got a new coat of paint too….So much more refreshing, right?! It’s crazy what a new coat of paint can do!!

IMG_3410
We also got rid of the track lighting that was over the kitchen table, and replaced it with this light. We actually have another one on order, due to arrive in a few weeks. I think two will balance it out better and bring a little more light into the room. Fab.com gave me a $15 credit, so i bought a second Tim Jaroz metal print, and finally hung those! Perfect timing Fab.com!

IMG_3417IMG_3411
And we got a new light fixture for the main part of the room. Previously, there was nothing there, and we were just waiting for the right fixture to come along. I really wasn’t in any hurry. We were torn between a light and a ceiling fan (I’m not much of a fan, but maybe for the RIGHT ceiling fan I’d be game?). Well the decision was made for us, when I got this light fixture at my neighbor’s garage sale for….$20!

IMG_3415 IMG_3416IMG_3412So whats next…

I need some new window treatments on the patio doors. The ones on there are off-white honeycomb blinds, so they look a little bit off. Considering getting all white ones, or possibly some bamboo shades. Opinions??  The ones I really want are below, but at $177 a pop, not sure thats ever going to be in my budget for FOUR doors….I’m also considering painting the doors a teal blue color, inspired by the one below. But since I have FOUR doors, not sure if this would be overkill….What do you think? we also have gross big gold doorknobs that I really want to replace, but don’t see this being in the budget anytime soon. Also the hinges are also gold, so even if I replace the door knobs, what do I do about those bright gold hinges? Can they be spraypainted silver? Is that even possible? For now its staying how it is…but its definitely on my wish list!
Screen Shot 2013-11-19 at 12.47.33 PM
I’m still on the hunt for the perfect rug as well. I think I really want something black and white or  basic and solid, maybe shaggy? but I keep leaning towards these busy. colorful rugs. Size is a huge factor. And most of what I see is online I’m scared to make such a purchase without seeing it in person. Itll be free to ship, but return shipping is on me in most cases…eeek!

I would love to find something black and white like on the left possibly (that one doesnt come in my size, and its out of my price range)….but the one on the right has caught my eye and could possibly be fun. I’m also scared of making such a big commitment to something and then getting sick of it in a few years…I want something that I’m 100 percent sure of! a 9×12 rug is not only kind of hard to come by that is both what I like, and affordable. (under $1000! and thats still alot, which is why this probably isnt happening anytime soon…but if you see something tell me!)
rugsI really think this is my DREAM RUG though! wowza!

e2a033c9177b760f14dee022da2bdd2e
Anyway, thats where we stand with the family room for now. I’m much much happier now that we said goodbye to the wood trim, and made some little improvements. I really want to work on retiling the fireplace and getting a proper mantel next in there – but that may have to wait until next year sometime –

Next up – Ill show you our transformed bathroom!

Leave a Reply

