buffalo seitan bowl.

BuffaloSeitanBowl
I recently took a trip to Nashville. While there we ate at the Wild Cow. Its an all veg restaurant, and we were really looking forward to it. Overall, the food was just ok… But, I ordered the Buffalo Tofu bowl, and I have to say, that was definitely the stand out meal. It was delicious. It made me think that I should make something similar at home. And it turned out EVEN better than what I had there, in my opinion. What you have here is a bowl of brown rice, red beans, steamed kale, avocado, and buffalo tofu. I served it with a side of cornbread.

(bonus tip: Trader Joes cornbread mix is vegan and delicious! – I used 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup apple sauce and egg replacer for one egg, and almond milk)

On to the recipe!

You will need
Seitan
2 tsp garlic powder
1 tspn onion powder1 Tbsp cornstarch
Olive Oil
2 Tbps earth Balance
1/2 cup hot sauce

Red Beans
avocado
Brown rice, prepared
Kale

Vegan Ranch Dressing (from Vegan Diner)
1/2 cup non dairy sour cream
3 T unsweetened non dairy milk
1 tspn dried parsley
1/2 tspn garlic powder
1/2 tspn onion powder
1/2 tspn sea salt to taste
1/4 tspn black pepper

mix items together and blend until smooth and creamy.

I make my seitan from Vegan eats world. This is my go-to recipe! I make it in 2-3 batches and freeze it and keep it on hand. Its really easy and delicious. Use your favorite seitan for this, and cut it into chunks.

Seitan:
Chop your seitan and coat with 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 tspn oinon powder and 1 Tbsp cornstarch. Saute in a pan until starting to brown. In a bowl, melt 2 Tbs Earth balance. Mix in 1/2 cup of Hot sauce (we prefer franks!) and mix well until combined. Add this to the pan, and let sizzle for 30 seconds to a minute. Remove from heat.

In the meantime heat up your beans, and steam your kale and prepare your ranch dressing.

Layer a bowl with rice, beans and kale. Then top with avocado, seitan and drizzle some ranch dressing on top. enjoy!

Leave a Reply

