roasted beets.

roasted_beets

So guess what? I have another mad love affair…this time with beets!

I’ve learned to accept beets in my life by masking the taste. I started with juicing, and now Im addicted to having them in my juices. Ive baked with them, made burgers with them….. Fine by me, as long as there is something else to mask the beet-y, dirt-ish flavor. Baby steps, but I have come around….Now I can’t get enough of their deliciousness!

I planted lots of beets in my garden this year, with the intention to juice them. Not sure how many of these are actually going to get into the juicer now that I’ve learned about roasting them. Sure, they take a bit of time to roast – but I promise you, its well worth it. No dirt taste here. I find myself craving these days afterwards. I just want more beets!

And bonus: beets are EXTREMELY healthy for you! They contain Potassium, magnesium, fiber, phosphorus, iron, vitamins A, B & C,  beta-carotene, beta-cyanine AND folic acid! SUPERFOOD!

Next year in my garden, I plan to keep a big chunk of space just for growing beets. They are extremely easy to grow (from seed…extra bonus!)

Let me know your favorite way to eat beets!

2 pounds red beets, medium sized, scrubbed clean, green tops removed (Save these for juicing)
Olive oil
Salt
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon grated orange zest
Freshly ground black pepper
1 Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a roasting pan with aluminum foil. Place the beets in the pan. Rub olive oil over the beets, and sprinkle with salt. Cover the beets with another sheet of aluminum foil. Roast for 1 to 2 hours, depending on the size of the beets and how old they are. After 1 hour, test every fifteen minutes by poking a beet with the tines of a fork. Once the fork tines go in easily, the beets are tender and cooked. Remove from the oven.

2 While the beets are cooling, prepare the balsamic glaze. In a small, shallow sauté pan, add the balsamic vinegar and sugar. Heat on high until the vinegar has reduced to a syrup consistency. Remove from heat.

3 After the beets have cooled for several minutes, but are still warm to the touch, peel off the outer skins and discard. Cut the beets into quarters or more, bite-sized pieces.

4 Place beets in a serving bowl. Pour balsamic glaze over the beets. Stir in grated orange zest, and add salt and pepper to taste.

Garnish with a little orange zest to serve.

2 responses to “roasted beets.

  1. I love beets! Here is a great recipe for roasted beet pasta with an almond basil pesto: http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/2013/06/07/golden-beet-pasta-with-basil-almond-pesto/

  2. i was never really a beet fan, and i think that was because i had only had canned beets growing up…that all changed when i made this exact same recipe (or at least pretty darn close) i fell in love with beets after eating this…i also saute the greens and gobble those up as well!

Leave a Reply

