vegan gyros.

GYROS

I love vegan gyros. LOVE.

The Chicago diner has the best one to date. Doesn’t mean I’m not going to try to make them at home though!

Vegan eats world has a recipe, and I couldnt wait to try it. I made a batch of the seitan from the book and followed her recipe and it was a huge let down. It wasnt very flavorful. I had half the recipe of seitan left, and I was determined to find something to do with it. I did some research on the internet for other vegan gyro recipes and kind of made up a marinade and gave it a go.

The result?
Delicious.

I love serving these with sweet potato fries, complete with ketchup!

Here’s what I did.
First, make a basic seitan recipe. Slice it thin and set it to the side.

Mix together
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup vegetable broth
the juice of 1/2 a lemon
a couple tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
Salt
pepper
2 tspns or so of dried oregano

pour over seitan and bake in oven at 400 Degrees for 20 minutes.

Serve on warm pita with cucumber, tomato, avocado and some tazkiki!

taziki:1/2 cup plain unsweetened soy yogurt
1-2 cloves of garlic, minced (depending on how garlicky you like things)
1 T dill
salt
pepper
squirt of lemon juice

Leave a Reply

