cinnamon crunch coffee cake.

coffeecake_makegreat

I have been looking for a reason to make this coffee cake from vegan brunch, since I bought the book a few years ago. I specifically stayed away from it beause I knew if I was left with this in my house, I would EAT IT ALL. I definitely have a soft spot for cinnamon crunch cakes. I was headed to a clothing exchnage with a pot luck brunch so I knew this would be the perfect thing to bring. It made just enough, and was a hit! There are all kinds of variations in the book, and I’m definitely looking forward to trying them all.

The recipe is:
Topping:
1 cup flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tspn ground cinnamon
1/4 tspn ground nutmeg
1/4 cup canola oil

Cake:
3/4 cup almond or soy milk
1 tspn apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil
1 tspn vanilla
1 1/4 cup flour
2 tspns baking powder1/2 tspn salt

Preheat oven to 375. Grease an 8 inch round springform pan (or a 8×8 baking pan). Combine the milk and the apple cider vinegar and allow to curdle. Begin preparing the topping while this is happening.

In a small mixing bowl, mix together flour, sugar and spices. Drizzle the oil by the tablespoonful or so; use your fingers to mix it up really good, until it all turns into a crumb like mixture. Now its time to make the cake.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together the milk mixture, sugar, canola oil, and vanilla. Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt and mix until smooth. Pour the cake batter into the prepared pan and evenly sprinkle the crumb mixture on top, patting it down just a bit.
Bake for 35-40 minutes, until a knife inserted comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

