sweet potato dog treats.

dogtreats_makegreat

So since we have a new puppy, I’ve been looking for ways to keep her busy. I was at Krisers this weekend, talking to the girls there getting advice on things for our dogs to chew on, keep busy, etc. She showed me these dehydrated sweet potato treats. They wanted $20 for about 12 of them. They were thicker and denser than the ones pictured here, but it made me thinking that I could probably make something simliar on my own, for a fraction of that price!

So i went home and sliced up 2 sweet potatoes. I rubbed them with olive oil and baked them at 175 for a total of about 8 hours. I did it for four hours, went to bed, and left them in the oven (with the oven turned off) and then woke up and baked them for about 4 hours more. You definitely want to keep your eye on these. It all depends on how thick you cut your sweet potato. Mine were a little on the thicker side (maybe about 1/4 inch) but i bet if you used a mandolin slicer you would not have to bake so long.

These were a hit with both our dogs. And its an all natural-treat, so they are guilt free!

Leave a Reply

