VEW: pad thai with avocado and spicy greens.

padthai copy

I’ve been cooking like crazy from this book, and I plan to keep going at it, So I have a new category for this blog – hence the VEW seen above. Everything has been so well worth it! Tonight’s dinner was no exception. Pad thai. One of my favorite dishes to eat. However, when I make it at home, I dont see to have much luck. The noodles are always mooshy and dry. Tonight’s dinner was delicious. There are some things I will change for next time – but overall THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME!
I used the savory tofu from the book, which it calls for, but I think next time I will just use plain tofu and fry it up. I made this savory tofu for the bi bim bop in the book (which is awesome by the way), and it was SO perfect for that, but this dish already had alot of flavors, so it came off kind of salty.

I especially loved the addition of kale to pad thai! I was kind of scared of veering off the traditional path – you didnt really even notice it was there, so you have all that added nutrition. As for the avocado….I didn’t really feel like this was a necessity. I will be leaving it off next time.

I changed the recipe up a bit, so I’m going to write out my version here.

I used
16 oz rice noodles
1 package tofu, pressed and fried up into cubes
a few handfuls of shredded kale
4 cloves garlic, minced (i would have done more if i had more!)
4 shallots, thinly sliced
4 scallions trimmed, white and green parts seperated
Peanut or vegetable oil ( i used olive oil b/c it was all i had on hand)

Sauce:
1/3 cup brown sugar
juice from 2 limes
3 T soy sauce
2 T ketchup
1 tspn white miso
2 tpsn tamarind concentrate
1/2 tspn coriander

Toppings:
Cilantro
shredded carrots
ground peanuts
lime wedges for squeezing at the end
sprouts ( i didnt have any but they would be good)

Here is what really worked for this recipe: Fill a large pot with about 6 inches of hot/warm water and put the noodles in there for about 20 minutes (!!!!)

When you are making the pad thai plates, you will be doing one serving at a time (this recipe makes about four servings) This helps from everything getting really mooshy. Everything cooks up really fast though.

Heat a wok or large pan to medium high heat with a little oil. When the pan is nice and hot….Throw in 1/4 of the shallots, white parts of the green onions and the garlic. Let cook for about two minutes, then add 1/4 of the noodles, tofu (its already fried, remember?!), green onion and carrots and stir around for another minute or two. Top with crushed peanuts, cilantro and peanuts and serve with a lime wedge.

do this for the other three servings, each one at a time. Its good stuff I tell ya!

Leave a Reply

