mickey cakes.

mickey

I made these mickey cakes as a surprise for my best friend who will be running the disney marathon next week! She happens to really love mickey, (make sure to click on her link above!) have a birthday this month, and told me yesterday  in a text ” i really love cake.” So here you go!

I also have two toddlers running around my house, so I thought these would impress them as well 🙂

This actually worked out great because I had some leftover frosting from a cake I made recently. It called for more than double the amount of frosting than the actual cake needed. I hate when that happens! The frosting is cream cheese frosting – SO its not necessarily the color of mickey – BUT I happen to have a husband who always buys trader joe-joes, then eats about four of them, leaving an entire box just sitting there.  Soooo, trader joe-joes to the rescue!

I made my usual vegan chocolate cupcake recipe. I just got red and white polka dot cupcake liners from the christmas clearance section at target. I knew these would come in handy! I melted chocolate to dip the “ears” into, for added deliciousness. I scraped the cream out of the joe joes and put them in the vitamix to grind into find crumbs. I frosted each cupcake, dipped it in the cookie crumbs, then stuck the two chocolate covered cookie ears into the cake.

One response to “mickey cakes.

Leave a Reply

