354. crocheted ocotpus.

octopus

This is my first experience with amigurumi. I find it REALLY hard to understand patterns. But I found this pattern on pinterest and as soon as I saw it I had my heart set on making it. One evening I just started reading it out loud and it made sense! Its basically just single crocheting in the round the entire time! Very very easy. I used a 5.5 needle, instead of the recommended 4.25 needle, so mine is a kind of like a giant squid. I worked on this over a few days as well. I didn’t do it in one night….but tonight I sewed it to together (very messily – need some work there) and now its complete. Its no where near as cute as the one in the photo, but I’m happy I was able to read a pattern and actually complete a project.  And as for those cute striped legs in the original pattern…. I tried it and it was NOT coming out cute for me. I definitely need some help with figuring out how exactly to change colors neatly.
I definitely see more of these kinds of projects in my future now that I have a pretty clear understanding of the stitches, and realize just how simple it is.

Leave a Reply

