301. fireplace mantel shelf.

I said my last big home improvement project this year would be to get a fireplace mantel put in, which also meant I’d probably get it retiled too….I pinned lots and lots of ideas, and had no clue how to picture what would need to go there. I knew it needed something, the tile was just there, and it was all kind of “floating.”  So i started to research just getting a fireplace mantel shelf. Yah, that was just as confusing. What kind of wood, what kind of thickness, etc? I would have never gotten there this year. Not to mention most of the shelves i were looking at were around the $300-400 range. Wasn’t jumping at the idea of paying that much for a shelf.

Well my friend Laurie pointed out this shelf seen above at ikea. for $19.99. And it was the exact size I needed it to be. No brainer. THIS would be the shelf. We took a trip to ikea last night, and earlier today Dj hung it, and just like that the room feels more together. I’m excited (and clueless) to decorate it for holidays!

Now to find the most amazing six foot piece of artwork for above it! Suggestions welcome! Considering this, but not sure its the right one. For now, I’m pretty happy wiht the way it turned out, and shocked this came together for $20!

(also, I’m thinking if we ever paint this room a color, I’m thinking of having all that wood trim painted white. I don’t think i like it so much…)

 

Leave a Reply

