292. pad thai

Pad thai is one of my favorite foods ever.
This dish (when it turns out right) is also one of my favorite things to make from vegan with a vengeance.

I change it around a little bit, but you can do what works for you.

My version goes like this:

Mix together:
6 T soy souce
4 T sugar
3 T lime juice (or tamarind paste)
1 t garlic chili paste (add more or less depending on your spice level)

Dice and fry up some tofu. Right before its almost done, dump in a bunch of cloves of minced garlic (based on your preference. I love garlic, so I add about 4)
Prepare rice noodles – but DON’T overcook them. This is the part that gives me trouble. I usually undercook them a tad, b/c they cook a little more later when I put everything together.

Shred some carrots, dice up some green onions, get your sprouts ready.

When the tofu and the rice noodles are ready – you gotta move kinda quick.

In the pan with the tofu, still hot from cooking, dump in your sauce. Add the Noodles, carrots, green onions, and mix it all up. Cook for just a bit, to get everything evenly coated and warm, but being careful to not overcook, otherwise your noodles will get mooshy and gross.

Throw in bean sprouts at the last minute, give it one last toss, and remove from heat and serve. Top with crushed peanuts, cilantro and lime wedges.

Also, maybe im crazy, but I LOVE room temperature lefotvers of pad thai the next day. The best.

Pad thai is one of my favorite foods ever.
This dish (when it turns out right) is also one of my favorite things to make from vegan with a vengeance.

I change it around a little bit, but you can do what works for you.

My version goes like this:

Mix together:
6 T soy souce
4 T sugar
3 T lime juice (or tamarind paste)
1 t garlic chili paste (add more or less depending on your spice level)

Dice and fry up some tofu. Right before its almost done, dump in a bunch of cloves of minced garlic (based on your preference. I love garlic, so I add about 4)
Prepare rice noodles – but DON’T overcook them. This is the part that gives me trouble. I usually undercook them a tad, b/c they cook a little more later when I put everything together.

Shred some carrots, dice up some green onions, get your sprouts ready.

When the tofu and the rice noodles are ready – you gotta move kinda quick.

In the pan with the tofu, still hot from cooking, dump in your sauce. Add the Noodles, carrots, green onions, and mix it all up. Cook for just a bit, to get everything evenly coated and warm, but being careful to not overcook, otherwise your noodles will get mooshy and gross.

Throw in bean sprouts at the last minute, give it one last toss, and remove from heat and serve. Top with crushed peanuts, cilantro and lime wedges.

Also, maybe im crazy, but I LOVE room temperature lefotvers of pad thai the next day. The best.

Leave a Reply

