267. apple butter.

Today I conquered apple butter.
It’s so easy to do! My crockpot did most of the work. This made three jars. I gifted two and kept one for ourselves. Tell me your favorite thing to do with it! I’m already thinking of stirring some in my morning yogurt or making peanut butter and apple butter sandwiches!

about 12 or so medium to large apples ( i used empire and golden delicious because that is what we picked)
2 Tablespoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups raw or brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cloves
3-4 teaspoons cinnamon

Peel, core, and slice apples in fourths. Put them in the crockpot with the vanilla and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Stir every few hours. Once apples are very, very tender, mash with a potato masher and stir in sugar and spices. Cook on low for another 5-6 hours, stirring occasionally.

Cool and pour into jars or an airtight container. Store in the refrigerator.

 

2 responses to “267. apple butter.

  1. Pingback: 268. apple pie crumb muffins. « make great

  2. pamasaurus

    I’ve been thinking about making apple butter with the apples I have leftover from picking. Now that I know how easy it is, I’ll definitely do this!

Leave a Reply

