256. 2 zip hipster bag.


This was the first pattern I have ever purchased. When I saw this reviewed on this blog, I believed I could make it. The instructions are really detailed, and it breaks it down so that someone with basic construction and zipper skills (like me!) can do this! I started out working on it together with my friend Emily, but we ran out of time and were forced to finish it on our own. I worked on it in a few stages, and it is now complete.

I dont think the orange topstitching was a good idea because I’m still kind of messy. ANd i had a little bit of trouble figuring out the top zipper and had to make some ammendments at the end that weren’t in the instructions, but mainly due to me doing something wrong.

I definitely want to take another stab at this bag because it was so fun to make. It makes you feel like you are doing something so complex – it has a pocket inside, an outer pocket, and an outer zipper pocket, adjustable strap – AND the top zips!

2 responses to “256. 2 zip hipster bag.

  1. Elaine

    Love how your bag turned out!! I’m hoping to attempt making a bag/purse soon… any extra advice you can give to the zipper installation?

    • yay! zippers are not scary! we learned how to make them in our sewing 101 class, so right off the bat, i was taught to not fear them. Its a big feeling of accomplishment when you do sew a zipper! I usually watch you tube videos on them and do some trial and error. My best advice is DONT fear them and just do it!

Leave a Reply

