230. new address plate.

The newly painted door has gotten me obsessed with making the outside of our house look more like us. The address plate that came with the house was white with gold numbers. (you can kind of see it in the linked photo)  I tried to spraypaint the numbers black, but we didn’t have the right kind of screws to put them back into the plate, and I realized that the plate itself was ugly and I hated the typeface of the numbers (I’m a graphic designer – i’m picky!). Ive been searching all over the internet (mostly etsy) to find a new address plate. The one I really want is $225. The other one that I really liked is around $100, and I would have to figure out how to get it drilled into the bricks, which I wasn’t too excited about having to do. So I went to home depot with the intention to just buy some numbers to stick on our mailbox for the time being but ended up finding these numbers that I kind of liked. I wandered over to the wood section, and found this piece of wood in a cart of scraps (so they let me have it for free!) The numbers were $1.50 each, and I already had screw hooks from this project.  A kind home depot employee helped me find some wood screws, and it seemed I had everything I needed to make this happen. Came home and put this all together, and it was really simple – all for under $10! I was also able to utilize the hooks that were already in place, so I didnt have to do any drilling into the brick.  I think its a HUGE improvement from what was there previously, don’t you think?!

Now onto replacing that ugly porch light….and to do something about that mail box.  I’m thinking of painting it…black maybe?

2 responses to “230. new address plate.

  1. Paint the mailbox glossy black, it will look funky 🙂

  2. Pingback: 232. front of the house updates. « make great

Leave a Reply

