164. garden snake.

I love the birds in my yard. I bought them a bird bath, make sure they have a constant supply of bird seed, make them special treats, and leave them stale bread. What do they do in return? They are jerks who eat my garden!  Everytime I go back there to water, birds go flying out of there. They completely ate my watermelon plant. So I planted two more. One is almost already gone, and they are now eating my okra and some of my green beans. One of my okra plants is almost all eaten up before it had the chance to even do anything.

So I googled how to keep them out of your garden. One of the things it said to do was to cut up a house and they might think its a garden snake. Well, I don’t have a hose to cut up, but I did find a deflated bicycle inner tube, so I spraypainted it blue, hoping to draw attention to it, and hoping it keeps them away.

I guess windchimes, a large owl, or pie pans are all supposed to help. I saw you can make a windchime out of cd’s, but for lack of time and wanting to try to nip this in the bud ASAP, I just stuck some cd’s into the ground as well hoping the reflection scares them away.  Not sure how well any of this is working. When I went to water this morning there was a robin near my tomatoes pecking at something!! (hopefully weeds) At least she wasn’t near my okra or watermelon!

C’mon guys. Stick to the bird seed!  Can’t we just all get along??

Leave a Reply

