160. korean style tacos with pickled cabbage.

My co-worker Jeanne made something similar for her blog a few days ago, and when I saw it pop up in my feed this morning I knew exactly what I was making for dinner tonight! I had all the ingredients lingering around from my chinese salad earlier in the week. And we got to sit outside at our new patio table and enjoy these.

I modified the recipe to veganize, and I was really afraid these would be kind of salty. They proved me wrong however, and were rather delicious. They are supposed to be similar to bulgolgi. We also topped them with avocado because its delicious and we figured it couldnt hurt. It really helped balance the flavors. Good stuff for sure. Ill be making these bad boys again! Oh, and I had a fresh package of el milagro corn tortillas, so that made these extra good!

2 T sugar
5 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
Squirt of sirachi or some chili paste
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 package seitan
corn tortillas
3 tablespoons sliced green onions
Avocado

1. Combine first 6 ingredients in a shallow dish. Add seitan to dish; cover. Marinate in refrigerator for 30 minutes or
2. Remove seitan from marinade, and discard marinade. Cook the seitan in a pan over medium heat until ready. Make tacos and top with pickled cabbage:

3 cups chopped napa cabbage
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 cup rice vinegar
2 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon sugar

  1. Place cabbage in a medium bowl with garlic. Bring vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and chile paste to a boil. Pour hot vinegar mixture over cabbage; toss. Let stand at least 30 minutes.
2 responses to “160. korean style tacos with pickled cabbage.

  1. Yay! Looks super yummy. I think when I make this again, I’ll use your recipe for the pickled cabbage since you used way less sugar. I bet I would like it better.

  2. This looks like an easy dish to try for the summer months. My family of four would enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

