149. DIY ant repellent.

Ok, maybe this isn’t the most glamorous post…but I’ve been seeing some ants near the kitchen sink. Not sure what exactly is causing this, but I would like them gone. I went to Menards this morning (for probably the seventh time in a week), and on my list were ant traps, but when I found them they were $6 and I realized the active ingredient was borax. Since I have a whole box of borax at home, I figured I would try to make something natural instead of buying those traps at the store.

This is what I did:

1 tablespoon of hot water
1 tablespoon of maple syrup ( i bet you can use corn syrup or honey)
1/2 teaspoon of borax

Place the ingredients in a small glass jar, shake to mix. Soak a cotton ball in the mixture, slightly squeeze out the excess liquid, and put the cotton ball on a small lid. Place the ant trap where you see the most ants. After the ants have disappeared, discard the cotton ball and keep the lid for reuse.

Someone claims this got rid of their ants in 24-36 hours. That would be great if thats the case. So far I’ve seen quite a few ants take to the bait…so we shall see…

One response to “149. DIY ant repellent.

Leave a Reply

