96. healthy peanut butter oatmeal cookies.


COOOOOKIES! I love them. I don’t like having them in the house because I eat so lots of them. But I always want them.
So I try to find cookies to satisfy my cookie craving, but aren’t too incredibly bad for you. But, it usually takes fat and sugar to make a good cookie…

I was kind of skeptical of these cookies when I first saw them because they have no processed sugar, no flour, and on;y 1.5 tablespoons of oil. But they did have lots of good stuff – oats, coconut, chocolate, banana and peanut butter. The only added sugar is maple syrup, and I reduced the amount. The recipe called for 3/4 cup, but that seemed like alot for such a small amount of cookies, so I used 1/2 a cup, and that was sweetness a plenty.  (GAH! as im typing the recipe I see it was supposed to be 3/4 tbspn, not 3/4 cup…OOOPS! – that would explain why mine were extra sweet. )

The dough seemed pretty wet, so I was kind of nervous about how these were going to turn out – but they puffed up rather nicely; they are a little on the soft side; they fall apart pretty easily, but they taste really good. My batch made about 9 large cookies….I’m having a hard time sitting here not eating them all now.

The original recipe can be found here

Heres what I did:

1 cup rolled oats
2.5 tbsp shredded coconut
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 large ripe banana
 ¼ cup peanut butter
1.5 tbsp canola oil
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 tbsp pure maple syrup
Handful of chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350°.
In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients (oats through to salt).
In a separate bowl, mash the banana. Add the peanut butter, oil, vanilla and maple syrup and whisk until smooth. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until all the dry ingredients are incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips and raisins.
Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or coat with baking spray. Scoop out the dough and drop cookies onto the baking sheet about 1” apart. Bake for 12-14 minutes, until they start to turn golden. Let cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes to help them firm up, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.
One response to “96. healthy peanut butter oatmeal cookies.

  1. I made these cookies tonight and funny enough I misread a measurement too. Unfortunately I think my mistake turned out to be a bigger opps. I put in 1/4 tbs of salt instead of 1/4 tsp:/ I also made the chickpea piccata that you posted. It turned out wonderfully delicious! Thanks for sharing:)

Leave a Reply

