92. mushroom barley soup.

I checked out the book, color me vegan,  from the library. Not sure why this soup caught my eye, but it did. So I made some today. And it was a much bigger hit than I was expecting.  Dj had two bowls and he doesn’t really like mushrooms. Milo ate 4 toddler sized bowls, and then decided to eat half of my serving. Milo has been SUPER picky lately – so this made me so excited that he is eating something of substance!

Here’s how I made it:

4 cups water
3/4 cup pearled barley
2 medium onions, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 T oil for sauteing
1 1/2 pounds cremini mushrooms (or use a mixture of different kinds!)
2 cups chopped carrots
1 zuchinni (this isnt part of the recipe, but I added it to get more veggies in there)
6 cup mushroom stock
1 T tomato paste
1/2 tspn salt
1/4 tspn black pepper

In a three quart saucepan, bring the water and barley to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30 minutes until barley is partially cooked. Drain.
Meanwhile, in a soup pot, saute the onions and celery in oil until tender, about 7 minutes. Add mushrooms; cook, stirring for 5-10 minutes. Stir in carrots, stock, tomato paste, and barley.

Bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

