73. sweet potato hummus

I’m on a big hummus kick lately.  I’m super addicted to those flat pretzel crisps dipped in Sabra hummus. I’ve never made my own because Sabra is so good….But last night I saw this recipe for sweet potato hummus on pinterest, so I started roasting some sweet potatoes and this morning threw the ingredients in the vitamix and made some! Got some packed for today’s afternoon snack. Can’t wait!

1 pound sweet potatoes (roughly 2 medium)
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 tspn chipotle powder (or use real chipotles – add more or less to your liking)
3 garlic cloves
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons tahini
course sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Pierce potatoes several times with a fork; place on a foil lined baking sheet.  Bake for 1 hour or until tender.  Cool slightly, then peel and add to the bowl of a food processor or vitamix.  Add chickpeas,tahini, olive oil, chipotle and garlic.  Puree until smooth and thin with up to 2 tablespoons of water if necessary.  Add ¼ teaspoon salt and season with pepper.  Refrigerate for up to 1 week in an airtight container.  Garnish with additional olive oil and smoked paprika before serving.

2 responses to “73. sweet potato hummus

  1. Yui

    Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I am on my way to try liking sweet potato hummus. The whole family love it, but not me. I know any sweet potato comes in great taste, but this one takes lots of wanting I guess lol! Anyway, I should give myself a try of this food.
    How to Make Sweet Potato Fries

  2. Yui

    I think I need to try this recipe. I love sweet potato, so definitely this is a go to my taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
    How to Make Sweet Potato Fries

Leave a Reply

