54. peanut butter breakfast cookies.

Anyone else out there crave a second breakfast? I usually drink a smoothie around 8:30am, and by 10:30 am, my tummy is ready for second breakfast. Sometimes I eat yogurt and granola, dried cereal, nuts, muffin or some fruit. I try find snacks that are healthy – low in fat (or at least have the fat come from good fat sources), and low in sugar, or free from processed sugar.  I saw a recipe for these healthy peanut butter cookies and they were made from all natural, unprocessed ingredients, so i made them this morning. Yes, i made them in the morning before I went to work. They only have a few ingredients and bake for 12 minutes. Why not? Prep time was only a few minutes….And I think they will fit the bill for a second breakfast. They aren’t sweet and buttery like normal peanut butter cookies, so be warned; they do taste healthy, but I like that – they are substantial and made from all whole, unprocessed ingredients. Milo enjoyed them too, so thats a plus.

I feel like I say this with every recipe, but you can definitely keep working with this and make it your own. I think it would be great with some chocolate chips, nuts, dried fruit, etc. And if they arent sweet enough for you, try adding more sweetner or using different sweetners. These will do the trick for me. I got 8 pretty big cookies out of this:

1 3/4 cups oats,  ground in your vitamix or blender
1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup flax seed, ground
1/4 cup soy or almond milk

Grind your flour and set aside. Mix together the peanut butter, maple syrup and milk. Add in the flax seed and mix well. Mix in the ground oats. Use a big cookie scoop and place on a prepared cookie sheet. Press down with a fork and bake 350 degrees for 12 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

One response to “54. peanut butter breakfast cookies.

  1. mmm these sound great. I know what you mean about liking the healthy taste of things!

Leave a Reply

