24. tortilla soup.

Tonight I made another version of tortilla soup. Last time I used the crock pot; Tonight I used the vitamix!

Basically I threw 5 roma tomatoes, 2 cloves of garlic, half a green bell pepper, chunk of onion,  a carrot, half an avocado, 1 tspn of taco seasoning, some black pepper, 1 soft corn tortilla, a vegetable bullion cube and 3 cups hot water into the vitamix. I blended it for about 6 minutes, until I saw steam coming from the top. Yes, my friends, the vitamix COOKS THE SOUP AS IT BLENDS IT.

(this would have been super yummy with a bunch of cilantro, but dj would have probably divorced me)

When it was about done, I threw in a cup of black beans, a cup of corn and some chorizo seitan and blended on low for a few seconds. We topped it with some crushed tortilla chips (donkey chips of course, they are the best!)

…and there you have it. Fresh, hot soup in under 10 minutes!

2 responses to “24. tortilla soup.

  1. looks delicious! can’t wait to try it!

  2. Pingback: 250. tortilla soup. « make great

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

