04. granola.

I have only made one kind of granola before. And it was fabulous. Granola is one of those things that is so easy to make, and I usually have everything on hand, I just don’t ever think to make it. I guess I always thought it would be time consuming, expensive, and require alot of oil to taste good. So I usually just always buy Milk and Honey granola from Whole foods, but at $7 a bag, I don’t do that very often. I got the book, Vegan Diner, from my library a few months back and was so in love with everything I made that I just went ahead and bought it as soon as I had to send it back to the library. So I figured I would try her version of granola and it did not disappoint!

Try it yourself! And don’t be afraid to experiment with it….Try different combinations of ingredients based on what you have.

3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup light brown sugar
3 T flax seed
1 1/2 tspn cinnamon
4 T canola oil
3 T agave nectar
1 tspn vanilla
1/2 cup chopped nuts (i used pecans)
1/3 cup dried cherries, raisins or other dried fruit of your choice (i used cherries)
*I added some shredded coconut too.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  In a large bowl combine the oats, brown sugar, flax and cinnamon. In a small bowl, mix together the canola oil, agave and vanilla extract. Add the oil mixture to the oat mixture, mixing well until the oats are very evenly coated.  Spread the oat mixture evenly on a 9×13 baking sheet. bake for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove the pan from the oven  and add your nuts (and coconut in my case). bake for another 10 minutes until evenly browned. Remove and add your dried fruit. Once cooled, store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

