117. almond-tella.

My laptop and my sewing machine are both broke. I feel totally helpless and uninspired because of it….BUT my vitamix still works!
So I whipped up a batch of this almond-tella from Hearty Vegan Meals for Monster Appetites. I accidentally bought a big bag of almonds the last time I went to trader joes, and when I got home I realized I already had a bag. So I have been looking for things to make with lots of almonds, so this was perfect.

Anyway, this recipe was easier than I thought it would be. You can use your vitamix to make nut butters, but you need to buy a seperate blade for it. So I wasn’t sure how this recipe was going to go. It said you can make it in a food processor, so I figured it would work in a vitamix.

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips
1/2 cup non dairy milk
3/4 cup almonds (dry roasted – i used raw, and it tastes fine)

Put the almonds in the vitamix or food processer and chop until it starts to form a paste. Mine never really formed a paste, but it ground up as fine as it possibly could I think. Melt the powdered sugar, chocolate chips and milk in the microwave for one minute. Slowly drizzle it into the almond paste mixture and continue to blend until very smooth.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to two weeks.

Now I need to find one of those recipes that use nutella and make something! I bet you can use any kind of nuts when you make this and make all kinds of yummy chocolate nut butters!

About littlepretty

" I decided that when I grow up you are going to do my wedding pictures." -emily hirsch, 11 years old.

One response to “117. almond-tella.

  1. Pingback: 150. banana not-tella bread. « make great

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

