29. pancakes.

One of the things I can not make to save my life is vegan pancakes. I hate making them. HATE IT. Ask me to make pancakes, and Ill usually do it because I like to cook food for people, but I end up in the worst mood afterwards because they NEVER turn out right. They always turn out rubbery and gummy. I watched my friend emily make pancakes one morning and she shared some tips with me and made it look pretty easy – and that gave me some hope. Then I made them myself a few weeks later and they still came out gummy and gross.

Pancakes should be light and fluffy inside, and a tiny bit of crispy on the outside. I just don’t see this happening with vegan pancakes. I can only remember two times ever eating vegan pancakes and they taste the way pancakes are supposed to taste. Once was in portland, (of course) at Laurelthirst. My friend swore these were the most amazing pancakes you will ever try – and we went specifically for them, and I chickened out and got a breakfast burrito. I tried a bite of hers and I’m still kicking myself, about four years later, that I didn’t order them. The second time was recently at Bleeding Heart Bakery. (sadly, i was just there and they are no longer on the menu…..sad face.)

I saw a photo of these pancakes somewhere on the internet and have been waiting for the opportunity to give making pancakes another try. I went for this recipe because in the photo, the pancakes LOOKED like pancakes should be, and they directly address pancakes being fluffy, not gummy. They claim that almond milk works better than soymilk, and of course overmixing leads to gummy pancakes. So I gave it a whirl this morning and to my surprise, I WILL be making pancakes again. These were amazing and just like pancakes should taste!

Dry Ingredients
1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1 Teaspoon Ener-g Egg Replacer, Unprepared
1/8 Teaspoon Sea Salt
1 Tablespoon Turbinado Sugar
1 & 1/2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

wet ingredients
1/2 Tablespoon Smart Balance Light Buttery Spread, melted
1 & 1/4 Cup Almond Milk (don’t sub another milk!)

In a small mixing bowl mix together dry ingredients, then add wet and fold together slowly. Do not stir too much because it could result in a gummy and rubbery pancake. Fold and lightly stir until you have a lumpy mixture.

I find that pancakes cook best on a heavy cast iron skillet. Thin metal skillets just don’t absorb heat very well and you may wind up with a scorched pancake that isn’t done in the middle.

In any case, place the skillet on the stove, spray it with a bit of canola oil and turn it on high for a minute or two to get it heated. Turn it down to medium-low heat and pour 1/3 cup of the batter onto the skillet. After a few minutes take a peek at the bottom of the pancake to make sure it’s not burning. I like to see bubbles come to the top surface of the pancake before I flip it over, which means it’s almost cooked in the middle. Then flip and cook until golden brown on the other side.

It’s important to not stir the pancake batter again. So when you dip batter out to make your next pancake, don’t stir it around.

Nutritional Facts
Servings 7 Serving Size 1 Pancake
Calories 83
Fat 0.9g
Carbohydrates 16g
Protein 1.9
Fiber .60g
Sugar 2.70g
Sodium 61.50mg
3 responses to “29. pancakes.

  1. Thank god someone else on the planet has an issue with pancakes. Gimme a recipe for almost anything and I can make it. But I’ve screwed up more batches of pancakes than I care to recall.

  2. Pingback: 203. banana chocolate chip flapjacks. « make great

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers

